X

Customize Your Ride

Build-A-Trike
Get Started

Build-A-Trike®

Over 1500+ Combinations

Get Started

Radio Flyer has brought you toys for outdoor play since 1917. Now you can create a trike that is perfect for your family.

  • Ages 9 Months - 5 Years
  • Pick colors, tires, and storage
  • Choose between 6 fabrics
  • Add comfort, sun protection, speakers and more
  • Create a custom nameplate
Get started
Build-A-Trike
*Accessories not sold separately.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 136 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. Next Page
  1. Review Review by ML
    Product Review

    Awesome awesome awesome...only 2 complaints and they are rather important. The first is where your child puts their feet. The pedals are constantly hitting my sons feet to the point we have to make sure his shoes are on tight and make sure he doesnt have cuts on them after taking him out. They really should make it so you can remove the pedals until you kid is a specific height to mitigate this.

    Second is the back wheel set up is a bit clumsy and doesnt roll exactly smooth, meaning when you cram the axel into both wheels it isnt perfectly straight which gives it a little wobble.
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************
    Hello, and thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback regarding the pedals, and have passed it along to our Product Development Team. There are three separate seat settings on the frame of the trike, so if your child is not yet tall enough to reach the pedals, we recommend moving the seat back to the furthest setting to allow for better access to the footrest. As for the rear wheel, try to hammer the red hubcaps onto the axle a little bit more. If you are still experiencing that wobble, please give us a call at 800-621-7613 and we can look into it further with you. Have a wonderful day! (Posted on 3/20/2017)

  2. great, steering could use improvement Review by My daughter loves it!
    Product Review

    Overall, I'm thrilled with the product. My daughter loves riding in it, she is able to see so much more than being in a stroller. My only complaint would be the parent steering- it's pretty loose, would be great if the alignment were able to be tightened up a bit. But it works great tooling around the neighborhood. (Posted on 3/14/2017)

  3. Good trike, but needs better footrest for safety Review by Gail
    Product Review

    The product is beautiful, love all the customized options. However, just like some of the other reviews, it really needs better footrest, at least until your child is old enough to reach the pedals or understand the concept of keeping their feet on the footrest and not let them drag on the ground. We took our 17 month old to the park, and she would not keep her feet on the footrest the whole time. We were concerned about her feet dragging and since she can't quite reach the pedals yet, the pedals kept hitting her feet. What my husband did was to remove the pedals for now, and in order to do that, he ended up having to change and make his own axle on the front tire. Then, he installed a footrest made of wood, painted it pink to match the trike, and now it works like a champ! I wish there is an option to post a photo of it. In the future, when our baby is old enough to ride the trike by herself, my husband will re-install the original pedals and axle, & take the footrest off, easy! Radio flyer needs to look into improving this footrest concern for child safety.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club.
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************
    Hi Gail, thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your Build-A-Trike. We have reached out via email to discuss further with you. If you would prefer to contact our Customer Service Team over the phone, please give us a call at 800-621-7613. Have a great day! (Posted on 3/6/2017)

  4. Cute trike but has some constructions quality issues Review by Jodi
    Product Review

    I have to agree with several of the reviews above, the steering mechanism is wobbly, the sun visor is so flimsy and seems awfully cheap in quality and the foot rest is too far back for my 18 month old to even reach to rest his feet. And, they are too short to reach the pedals so his feet dangle or hit the pedals and causes an annoying noise. Not only that, since there is nowhere for him to rest his feet, he at times puts them on the wheel and his foot gets tangled up when we are in movement. I love that he has his first Radio Flyer trike with a personalized nameplate, but for the price ($200!) I feel Radio Flyer has really cut too many corners when it comes to a quality product. Pretty disappointed in our first experience with Radio Flyer.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club.
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************
    Hi Jodi! Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your trike. We have reached out via email and look forward to assisting you further. Have a great day! (Posted on 3/2/2017)

  5. Minimal Flaws Review by Tony
    Product Review

    I spent hours looking at different varieties of trikes on amazon and around the net. Everywhere pointed me toward radio flyer, which is great because it was our first choice.
    I would've prefered the option to customize the collapsible stroller, but this one is compact enough to take with us.
    Occasionally the handlebars misalign with the steering and the wheel caps come loose with no way to tighten them. But other than that this was a great buy, it's pretty much replaced our strollers.
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************
    Hi Tony! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your new Build-A-Trike. To prevent any misalignment with the handlebars, please ensure the metal clamp is securely tightened so that you can see 2-3 threads of the bolt through the opposite end of the clamp. If you are in need of any replacement hubcaps, please give our Customer Service Team a call at 800-621-7613. Thank you, and have a great day! (Posted on 3/1/2017)

  6. Love it minus a few small things.. Review by Jenn C
    Product Review

    Built a 4-in-1 for our son's 1st birthday - assembling took a little time and definitely needed 2 people to do it (specifically assembling the back wheels), but overall not terrible to put together. Our son loves it, and both myself (5'1") and my husband (6'2") have no issue pushing him and steering. We chose the air tires, but haven't had the opportunity to use it yet on anything other than concrete. Many times we use it in place of a stroller.

    My only annoyance (like many others) is the foot rest. At 1 year he is about 29 inches tall. His feet don't reach the foot rests, so he lets his legs dangle which means he is almost constantly hitting his feet on the pedals. It doesn't seem to bother him, but it creates this obnoxious sound and makes it slightly difficult to push the trike. The sun visor is also a little flimsy, but does the job. (Posted on 3/1/2017)

  7. love it!! Review by RVTmom
    Product Review

    We ordered this for my daughter's first birthday. Assembly was a bit awkward, but got it all set up in about an hour. The pink is really cute. We love the steering and the fact that seat height is adjustable. The canopy is great for shade. The only thing that I don't like is that no matter how I adjust the shoulder straps, when my daughter turns the handle bars to "steer" (I'm really steering), one of the straps always slips off her shoulder. Other wise, great. Good value and lots of fun! (Posted on 2/7/2017)

  8. Too many issues for the price Review by Cheryl
    Product Review

    For the nearly $200 I spent, I'm very disappointed. Yes it looks great, adorable. But you have serious issues, esp with the pedals and placement of foot rests, that you're not acknowledging or fixing in a timely manner to ensure child safety.

    I started with the cheaper "4-in-1" version from a discount store, which had no foot rests. I had to buy the Custom Trike product to get that. Meaning paying a lot more and assembling a second bike. Ok. Did that. Foot rests are poorly placed so my child cannot reach them. She also cannot reach the pedals to "rest her feet and cruise". So instead her feet drag on the ground, ruin her shoes and trip us up. I bought after-market pedal straps and zip tied them on to try and help, with little success.

    The sunshade is, as a previous review stated it accurately, "completely useless". The folding/adjustment mechanism is cheap, flimsy and doesn't open or close well.

    The telescoping parent handle constantly collapses back into itself, and needs to be readjusted. And the trike itself tips over very easily considering it's a tricycle--I remember how I rode my Radio Flyer trike when I was little and this is definitely NOT the same quality.

    (This is when Radio Flyer will copy and paste the generic response about customer service being able to help me when they can't!!) These are Product Development issues, not CS. Please forward to your team, thank you.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club.
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************
    Hi Cheryl, Thank you for taking the time to review your Build-A-Trike. We have followed up with you via email and are happy to be working with you to address your feedback and provide solutions. Thank you, and have a great day! (Posted on 2/6/2017)

  9. Love the bike, not the parent steering Review by pinkonelk
    Product Review

    The trike with accessories arrived in time for me to assemble, (which was very easy!) and hide before my son's 2nd birthday. He loves it! I love the mesh basket for holding sippy cups, keys, phone, etc. My only issue is the stroller steering seems loose. When I turn the stroller handle, it does not immediately turn the handlebars the same distance. There is some "slack". Other than that, it's a great product! (Posted on 2/6/2017)

  10. Issues with the steering Review by I would like to love it
    Product Review

    We live on the Main Street that runs through town and we walk A LOT. The steering makes this too hard to use which is a shame because she would rather ride this than be in a stroller.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club.
    **********Radio Flyer Customer Service**********
    Hi Mollie! Thank you for your review. We apologize for any difficulty you are experiencing with your Trike. We would love to look into what may be occurring with the steering performance. Please contact our Customer Service Team at 800-621-7613. (Posted on 12/9/2016)

Items 1 to 10 of 136 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. Next Page

Write Your Own Review

Earn Points for writing a review with our loyalty program! SIGN UP or LOG IN

If you need personal assistance with Radio Flyer products or have general questions, please contact us by e-mail or call us at 1.800.621.7613 Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm CST.

You're reviewing: Build-A-Trike®

How do you rate this product?*
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Product Review



Build-A-Trike

Build Now