productId

More Views

More Views

Blaze Interactive Riding Horse

Realistic Riding Experience
Ages 2 - 6
Model 381

Meet Blaze, the next best thing to a real horse! This beautiful, realistically designed spring horse...

$169.99
Add to Cart
You could receive 10 Points for writing a review and/or rating this product.

Meet Blaze, the next best thing to a real horse! This beautiful, realistically designed spring horse responds to your child's motion with lifelike sounds triggered by three levels of riding action: walking, trotting and galloping.

  • Beautifully decorated realistic horse
  • Electronic sounds triggered by riding action during 3 stages of riding: walking, trotting, and galloping
  • Includes brush and carrot to activate chewing sounds
  • Built-in safety straps to protect little fingers
  • E-Z Climb™ step for easy on and off

See How they Roll

Scroll through the gallery to see how others have enjoyed this ride!

Ages: For ages 2 - 6 Years
Assembled Body: 36" L x 41" W x 21" H
Seat to Floor: 28.25"
Seat to Platform: 22.75"
Seat to Stirrup: 15"
Seat to Handle: 17"
Weight: 29.75 lbs.
Weight Capacity: 60 lbs.
Carton Dimensions: 21.25" L x 12.00" W x 23.75" H
Model: #381
Download Assembly Instructions

Earn Points for writing a review with our loyalty program! SIGN UP or LOG IN

  1. Just what I had hoped for! Review by Nana
    Product Review

    I remembered this type of rocking horse from when I grew up and was delighted to see that Radio Flyer offered one! It's all that I had hoped for in giving it to my grandchildren. (Posted on 3/6/2017)

  2. Great Rocking Horse Review by Brooks
    Product Review

    We ordered a rocking horse for our Grandson for Christmas. Buying direct from Radio Flyer their price and shipping couldn't be beat. Assembled easily and I was impressed with the quality of the product. Our Grandson at 18 Months was actually a little afraid of his big new horse at first but quickly warmed up to him! He rides him every day, loves combing his mane, and feeds him his carrots regularly. We have another grandchild due next month and I am certain the rocking horse will serve them both for a long time.
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************
    Hi Brooks! Thank you for sharing your Radio Flyer story with us. This year marks Radio Flyer’s 100th Anniversary! To celebrate a century of smiles, we welcome any stories and photos on our Little Red Stories page, which can be found by clicking the 'Stories' tab on the top of our homepage. By submitting a post, you also have the opportunity to win a gift card towards a future purchase. Have a great day! (Posted on 3/3/2017)

  3. Excellent Customer Service - Love Blaze Review by J C
    Product Review

    Outstanding customer service was received when we contacted Radio Flyer as we were assembling Blaze just days before Christmas. We discovered that the sound was not working properly in the horse's head. We had waited to assemble Blaze as we wanted to keep him a surprise until Christmas and it's pretty hard to hide him once assembled. Our waiting didn't give us much time to fix the problem, but we called and the replacement head was shipped out and we received it just in time for Christmas. Can't thank Radio Flyer enough. Problems happen, but this company stands by their product. Blaze works great now and grandchildren love him. =)

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 1/5/2017)

  4. Interactive riding horse- model 381 Review by dave
    Product Review

    Cool rocking horse. Quality parts. However, the instructions were missing and one of the black straps that suspends your child had a slight cut or tear. I'm worried that it might give away sometime, so I constantly check it before my grandson rides it. I see the phone number above so I'll call and ask if they can send a replacement strap for my peace of mind. I searched for instructional video/ instructions online. Took awhile but found instructions. https://www.radioflyer.com/skin/frontend/blank/radioflyer/docs/ins/380_instructions.pdf
    Here they are if this happens to you. Their is a video but it's way out dated and is missing the new step and this horse is not pre-assembled like the video. The new step was the only part that had hole alignment issues. I suggest making an updated video for such a nice riding horse that my 2 year old grandson loves.
    **********Radio Flyer Customer Service**********
    Hi Dave, thank you for review! We appreciate the feedback that you have provided regarding your Blaze Interactive Riding Horse. We would be more than happy to send out a replacement safety strap for your Blaze. Please contact Customer Service at 800-621-7613 or email customerservice@radioflyer.com. (Posted on 12/23/2016)

  5. Great product & customer service! Review by Deborah
    Product Review

    My 2 year old daughter loves Blaze!


    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 10/20/2016)

  6. Love Love ! Twin Grand Boys, Another Boy and Grand Daughter Love "him" Review by Jenna aka Pie
    Product Review

    Horsey was not hard to assemble. He is beautiful. These children would love him even without sound. They also make their own horsey sounds while "giddiupin".
    Big difference in this one and the one I rode in 1950's !
    Thank you for making such a wonderful memory maker.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 9/23/2016)

  7. Love Love ! Twin Grand Boys, Another Boy and Grand Daughter Love "him" Review by Jenna
    Product Review

    Horsey was not hard to assemble. He is beautiful. These children would love him even without sound. They also make their own horsey sounds while "giddiupin".
    Big difference in this one and the one I rode in 1950's !
    Thank you for making such a wonderful memory maker.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 9/23/2016)

  8. No sounds!! Review by Cindygp
    Product Review

    This battery compartment is a pain to open!! I finally did this and put new batteries==STILL no sounds!! Ugh!!!


    **********Radio Flyer Customer Service**********
    Hi Cindygp, thank you for your review! We apologize for the trouble that you are experiencing with your Blaze Interactive Riding Horse. The sound for Blaze is motion activated and begins once the module has been turned on and the child has been riding the horse for about 1 minute. However, if you are still having difficulty with the horse we would be more than happy in assisting you with a solution. Please call Customer Service at 800-621-7613 or email customerservice@radioflyer.com. (Posted on 9/5/2016)

  9. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE This Horse. Review by Uppa Gam
    Product Review

    This was the second Radio Flyer product purchased for our Granddaughter. Her second birthday - Christmas day 2015. Her EYES lite up as soon as she saw it, and she was off and Riding.
    This product is very sturdy and well built. We have had no problems with assembly, and all features still work well. One thing was changed - she named of her horse "Kit". lol
    We love radio flyer products, and are looking for a gift for our Grandson's birthday - any suggestions. :) (Posted on 7/30/2016)

  10. Jeazell Review by Built well
    Product Review

    We bought this for our son who is almost 18 months this month and he loves playing on it. He can't reach the steps yet, but he likes to ask us to ride his horse. Very well built and he will grow with it. (Posted on 7/21/2016)

  11. Updated Classic! Review by Chelsea
    Product Review

    I purchased this for my horse-loving niece's 2nd birthday. I put it together before her party, and this pony was the star of the show! At 2, her legs were a little short to reach the stirrups, she had to use the top part of them. Now, a little over a year later, "Blaze" is holding up wonderfully with daily rides. His mane has become frizzy, but that's ok! Still makes noise, still has a spring in his step! Would not hesitate purchasing this item again!

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 6/29/2016)

  12. Awesome! Review by Lauren
    Product Review

    We don't not own this horse yet, but will be purchasing soon. My friends daughter has this horse and my 2 year old absolutely loves it. She has a blast riding on it and enjoys the noses it makes. It's very hard to get her off the horse to go home. Thanks to this horse she is a huge fan of real horses and we can not wait to own it!!!

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 6/22/2016)

  13. Love it but needs an update to the front leg... Review by AREMEQ
    Product Review

    Front right leg needs to be remolded to kick outwards.
    When my 4 children ride it and they get going, all is great, except the hoof hits the plastic Radio Flyer step.

    Everything else is perfect. (Posted on 6/8/2016)

  14. No sound... Granddaughter is very sad! Review by Jk
    Product Review

    My husband and I bought this for our granddaughter's 3rd birthday in May who is a horse lover and lives with us and we rearrange our front room to make room for Blaze. She literally rides her horse everyday and the sound has worked off and on. Grandpa replaced the batteries. It work for awhile now it no longer works! I did read the reviews but I amused the had fixed the issues with it but I amused incorrect. It has not even been a full year that she has owned the horse. So disappointed that it no longer works. Especially for the price! If she is unhappy then as grandparents we are unhappy. Would have gave it 5 stars if the sound was still working..... Very unhappy grandparents!

    *********** Radio Flyer Customer Service **********
    Hi JK, thank you for your review! We're so glad to hear that your granddaughter is enjoying her Blaze! We apologize that the sound is no longer working on the horse. Please call Customer Service at 800.621.7613 or complete our Warranty Replacement Part form and we can assist you in sending out a replacement part. (Posted on 2/1/2016)

  15. Another Great gift! Review by Gia
    Product Review

    My twins got this for Christmas from my in laws and it has kept them busy and very happy. It's very durable, safe and cute! The colors are fantastic and I'm so glad they love it as much as I do!

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 1/14/2016)

  16. BABY LOVES Review by Mackenzie
    Product Review

    My parents got this as a Christmas gift for my 18 month old, who loves it! We have yet to have any issues with the voice box *knocks on wood*. It is a bit odd in that whenever we turn the lights off for the room, the horse goes off, every time. The assembly was difficult, but the instructions were clear, just a bunch of different pieces. Also really like that it has covers for the springs,

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 1/7/2016)

  17. No sound AT ALL Review by Jenni
    Product Review

    This was for our son on Christmas morning this year. We of course assembled it Christmas Eve and to our surprise NO SOUND AT ALL!!! The store was closed obviously with it being Christmas Eve. So we have an interactive horse that is basically a rocking horse. Biggest let down.
    ***********Radio Flyer Customer Service************
    Hi Jenni, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the experience you had with your horse. The horse needs to be ridden by a child for up to a minute before the sound will activate. After it activates the first time, it will start immediately when being ridden again. If your horse is still not making noise, please contact our Customer Service team and we will have a new part sent out to you. (Posted on 12/29/2015)

  18. Great toy but carrot doesn't work Review by Amber smith
    Product Review

    We were super excited to give this to my daughter for Christmas and when she saw the carrot ran to feed the horse but it wouldn't
    I don't know if the one we got just doesn't make that sound or what but then why put the carrot in the box at all. Overall she loves riding it
    ************Radio Flyer Customer Service**************
    Hi Amber, Thank you for your review! There is a sound chip in the mouth that activates the carrot. Once you cast a shadow over this chip, you should hear the horse make 'chewing' noises. If your horse is not working in this way, please contact our Customer Service team at 800.621.7613 and we can troubleshoot further with you! (Posted on 12/28/2015)

  19. Great Product / Well Built Review by Douglas
    Product Review

    Just assembled this horse for Christmas and I was instantly impressed with the materials. Well built. I have two younger children (6 and 2) and both are able to use the horse. It is a little tall for a 2 year but after showing him how to mount and dismount the horse, he picked up on it quickly.

    Very impressed on initial quality and construction.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 12/25/2015)

  20. Wonderful friend Review by Grandbabies best friend
    Product Review

    Bought Blaze for my grandkids ages 2 and 4 , great price and fast shipping. Well made toy both kids fight over who is going to ride him and the 4 year old wanted him right beside her bed and the toy carrot is a cute accessory. Will be the favorite toy for many years (Posted on 12/3/2015)

  21. Grandson loves it! Review by Cheryl
    Product Review

    My grandson received this along with a little cowboy outfit and he loves it! I had one when I was little, so I figured he ought to have the same fun I had when I was little. I did not put it together, my son did, but there were no complaints or issues from him after putting it together.

    Please note this reviewer received points for writing this review through Little Red Club. (Posted on 11/9/2015)

  22. Fine toy Review by James
    Product Review

    I bought this for my great grand daughter, she loves it. This is a well built toy for children to have fun with inside and out. Would highly recommend to parents for their children (Posted on 11/6/2015)

  23. Hours and hours of joy! Review by Tori
    Product Review

    My mom bought Blaze (Named "Brownie" by my daughter) for my daughter's 2nd birthday. She is almost 4 1/2 and she spends so much time every day on it. Definitely one of the best gifts she ever received. Even 2 1/2 years later, the batteries still work and everything! I've had to oil the springs a few times just to keep the noise to a dull roar, but otherwise no problems! If left in direct sunlight (near a window), it will randomly start chomping on an invisible carrot, but once we figured out it was the sunshine, we just moved it. My only fear is that my daughter will outgrow it before she reaches 60 lbs! She rides it so fast that feet start coming off the floor now! I dread the day that we have to say goodbye to one of her favorite toys. (Posted on 10/8/2015)

  24. Next best thing to the real thing Review by Bubbabob
    Product Review

    We live in the country and are surrounded by actual horses. My 2 year old grandson loves to go to our neighbors house and feed the nay nays as he calls them.. As soon as he opened the wrapping and climbed on he was all smiles. I babysit him so the horse is here and now that winter is coming we will be able to feed blaze and not be cold.. Thanks Radioflyer (Posted on 9/28/2015)

  25. Carrot Did Not work! Review by Great Auntie
    Product Review

    The carrot did not work! Besides that it sure is better than when we were kids. Took a while to put together but that too was a sharing experience
    ***************Radio Flyer Customer Service********************
    Hi Great Auntie, Thank you for your review! We would be happy to assist you further with the trouble you are experiencing. Please contact our Customer Service team and we'll get your Blaze fixed right up. (Posted on 9/19/2015)

  26. love it Review by Yackie
    Product Review

    My daughter had her "horsey" and spent hours and hours on it growing up. I purchased Blaze for my granddaughter and we can't locate the carrot or comb - do you offer replacements for them?


    ********** Radio Flyer Customer Service **********
    Hi Yackie, thank you for your review! We're so glad to hear that your granddaughter is enjoying her Blaze horse. We do have the carrot and comb available. Please contact Customer Service at 800.621.7613 and we would be more than happy to assist you. (Posted on 9/6/2015)

  27. Voice Box Issues Review by Jessica
    Product Review

    Great horse, Blaze is very beautiful and fun but the voice box stopped working a few days from purchase. Apparently this is common by the looks of other reviews.
    ********************Radio Flyer Customer Service************************
    Hi Jessica, Thank you for your review! We have a 1-year warranty on all of our products and upon registering, this is extended to 2 years. We would be happy to send you a new sound module to address this issue. Please contact our Customer Service team at 800.621.7613 or complete our warranty replacement part form and we'll get your horse making noise again! (Posted on 8/25/2015)

  28. Blaze is a great horse and pal Review by Janet
    Product Review

    We, the grandparents, bought this interactive riding horse for our grandson's second birthday. He loves it. The horse is well made. The plastic body is nicely painted and durable. The springs are safe. The instructions for assembly are well detailed. We could not have made a better choice for an appropriate gift. Thank you, Radio Flyer, for continuing to make outstanding products. In addition, your customer service is tops! (Posted on 8/1/2015)

  29. Good product - grandchild adores! Review by Shawn D.
    Product Review

    I purchased Blaze for my 2 year old granddaughter. My husband assembled and found the assembly quite easy. Our granddaughter LOVES her new horse! She especially loves to feed him the carrot and hear the "crunching" noises. She is quite tall for her age, so she did not have any trouble getting on and off, but I can see that this may be an issue for children under 3. Overall, we were extremely happy with our purchase!! (Posted on 7/31/2015)

  30. great while the sound lasted Review by NaNa
    Product Review

    I purchased the Blaze Interative Riding Horse for my granddaughter. She keeps it at my house, so it does not get rode too much. The sound went out after about 6 months, so I replaced the batteries. My husband finally got around to checking it out, since he is an electrician, but he could not get it to work. The batteries are fully charged, but no sound. I got on RadioFlyer website to order the part, but it is out of stock.
    ***********************Radio Flyer Customer Service**************************
    Hi NaNa, Thank you for your review! We have a 1-year warranty on all of our products and upon registering, this is extended to 2 years. We would be happy to send you a new sound module to address this issue. Please contact our Customer Service team at 800.621.7613 or complete our warranty replacement part form and we'll get your horse making noise again! (Posted on 4/17/2015)

  31. Works great for us Review by Momof5
    Product Review

    All 4 of my kids love this horse even though I got it for my 18 month old! The sound will randomly go off when I'm in my kitchen and it scares me but I find it funny and it only happens once a day. I figure the old one had no sound so it's just a bonus now that they do:) had it for 2 months and would definitely suggest buying one! (Posted on 2/2/2015)

  32. Great horse, awesome customer service Review by Carolina
    Product Review

    I loved my Radio Flyer horse when I was little & rode it nonstop. So I was excited when my in-laws bought one for each of my twins for Christmas. They love their horses. Our only disappointment was that one of the sound boxes doesn't work. I just spoke with customer service & they are sending out a replacement head. Even though we had the sound issue, I'm still giving Blaze & Radio Flyer 5 stars because their customer service rep was awesome & friendly. I understand that sometimes there are issues but for me, it's all about how these problems are resolved. Thanks Radio Flyer for the quick response! (Posted on 1/6/2015)

  33. Best 2nd birthday gift. Review by Mama tuck
    Product Review

    We got this for one of our grand daughters 2nd. Birthday. She loves it. Feeds it, combs Blaze hair. Hugs it. Best gift ever. Thank you. (Posted on 12/8/2014)

  34. High product, good instructions, but watch head/body connection Review by Mark
    Product Review

    Just assembled the horse, and grandkids are still just a few weeks too small to really use it, so this is really more of an assembly review than a use review. Brief use testing and opinions from our granddaughters cousins suggest a lot of good use will come later.

    The kit is complete and the instructions are helpful and needed. reading through them made and unwrapping the parts and pre-positioning them and actual installation easy, with one big issue. (discussed later)

    4 hours later: One "too young" granddaughter tried it and seamed to enjoy it, especially the trotting sound. She definitely enjoyed feeding the horse its carrot and getting the response.

    Tips:
    1. A 10mm socket wrench is pretty handy both to tighten the nuts, and also to protect the fancy nuts that hold the head on if a few taps with a hammer are needed to drive them through. Not essential, but handy.
    2. A simple chair or bench can hold the horse body about where it needs to be when first attaching the safety straps.
    3. Temporarily putting the legs together on the horse using the bolts hand tightened means the horse and legs can sit quietly while one corner at a time is properly attached to the frame.

    Our horse had some defects in the neck area that prevented the head attachment bolts from passing through it. The obvious fix would have been to simply request a replacement body. But I am an engineer, wanted the horse built, and figured he could be repaired. Used a 1/4 inch bit to drill out all 4 of the body through holes--all four could not take the required bolt before drilling. Not good enough. Bored out pits on both inside of body and outside of head so slight misalignments could self-correct. Yea! Bolts slid to about the last 1.5 inches, needing only a few taps to finish. None of the repairs show on the outside, - 2 stars because of the above quality issue for this horse. (Posted on 12/5/2014)

  35. no sound Review by Erika
    Product Review

    My son loved this horse until the sound went out. I changed the batteries several times. This is a big disappointment.
    ********************Radio Flyer Customer Service***********************
    Hi Erika, Thank you for your review. We apologize for issue you are now experiencing with the sound on Blaze. We would be happy to resolve this for you! Please contact our Customer Service team at 800.621.7613. (Posted on 11/24/2014)

  36. Trusted brand Review by Perriann
    Product Review

    Radio Flyer has always been a trusted brand. I had a wagon when I was a child.
    (Posted on 9/24/2014)

  37. Disappointed Buyer Review by Sad Dad
    Product Review

    I remember the Radio Flyer brand as a child--it was synonymous with indestructible. It is disappointing to see how far they have fallen.

    This toy's "sound module" malfunctioned from the day we got it. It would not work when we put the carrot in its mouth and it would go off in the middle of the night to wake us. It now doesn't work and we have no recourse, other than to buy a new head.

    This is not unique to us, as there are many reviews citing similar issues. I'm disappointed that Radio Flyer will not stand behind their product. It is not my fault that their engineering department did not create a robust design, source it from a reputable supplier, perform proper durability tests, or whatever. Now I'm a sad dad.
    ************************Radio Flyer Customer Service******************************
    Hi Sad Dad, I'm sorry to hear about the experience you have had with your horse. We would be happy to assist you with a replacement. Please contact our Customer Service Team at 800.621.7613 and we can work through some solutions with you. (Posted on 9/23/2014)

  38. Blaze of Glory Review by Elaine
    Product Review

    Bought Blaze for granddaughter in 2009. She is 6 now and Blaze is still going. Now we have 2 more grandchildren who can enjoy blaze real soon. The sound still works well. Thanks (Posted on 9/21/2014)

  39. Thanks for the memories. Review by No complains
    Product Review

    Received as a gift in Dec 2010 and 3 1/2 years later still works. The only problem...she has out grown it :-) (Posted on 7/18/2014)

  40. NO MORE HORSE SOUNDS Review by CJ
    Product Review

    We purchased this for our daughter, who LOVES horses, for Xmas. She and we were thrilled with it. Now it is March and it is already broken. What a shame to pay a premium for a premium product and have it malfunction so quickly. We thought it just needed batteries - and ensured the door was flush. It seems the speaker is broken. And it seems this is a common issue. Wish we would have read the reviews more carefully. Or simply paid less for a horse my daughter wouldn't be looking to make sounds every day ending up disappointed. Terrible feeling.
    ***********************Radio Flyer Customer Service***************************
    Hi CJ, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the experience you have had with your Blaze Interactive Riding Horse. We would be happy to send you a replacement sound module to address this issue. Please either fill out our warranty replacement part form our contact our Customer Service team at 800.621.7613 to receive the new part. (Posted on 3/23/2014)

  41. Radio Flyer Horse just Rocks ..literally Review by Sharon
    Product Review

    We purchased this beautiful wonder horse for our 2 1/2 year old granddaughter. She had been a Dallas Cowboy cheerleader for Halloween and has been calling herself a "cowgirl" ever since. Well, every cowgirl should have a horse. We did not think of it soon enough, we ordered it knowing it would not be here in time for Christmas, but Amazon and Plumstruck came through and it was here 2 days early. What is not to love, looks beautiful, sounds are great, has a carrot and a comb. It appears to be quality, so I would say Radio Flyer's Wonder Horse ,Blaze , truly Rocks. (Posted on 12/24/2013)

  42. Blaze the spring Pony Review by Mary
    Product Review

    We purchased this pony for our Grandaughter and to our disappointment the voice box didn't work. We looked at reviews on the internet and apparently this is an ongoing issue that has been ignored by RadioFlyer. I am ordering a new voice box under warranty but if they know the issue exists they need to resolve it. I would have given 5 stars except for the the voice box not working. I would purchase this item again as our baby loves her pony and rides him every day.
    **********************Radio Flyer Customer Service************************
    Hi Mary, Thank you for your review! We apologize for the difficulty you experienced with the sound on Blaze. We an assure you that upon receiving any complaints regarding our product, our Quality team is informed and takes the necessary action to resolve. We have found in many cases, if the battery door is not flush with the horse, or if he is not left in a well lit room to cast a shadow across the sensor in the mouth, the sound will not function as intended. We are happy to hear you are receiving a replacement module! If we can be of any further assistance, please let us know. (Posted on 12/14/2013)


Write Your Own Review

Earn Points for writing a review with our loyalty program! SIGN UP or LOG IN

If you need personal assistance with Radio Flyer products or have general questions, please contact us by e-mail or call us at 1.800.621.7613 Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm CST.

You're reviewing: Blaze Interactive Riding Horse

How do you rate this product?*
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Product Review